“JUST DO IT.” – Nike

Emotion

Just do it. The famous Nike slogan couldn’t have put it any better. Just go ahead and do it. What are you waiting for? Why are you busy making excuses, when you could be doing it? The only one who’s stopping you is you.

I used to make up a lot of excuses as to why I couldn’t do it, one of them being the fact that I thought I would fail. Fear, anxiety, what have you, fear got the best of me. It kept me from starting my first blog, letting the public know my opinions, and finally, carving out a path to make my dreams a reality. Fear gets the best of people, but what I have recently realized is that fear is nothing more than a challenge.

When you feel fear, you have two choices, rise to the challenge, or back down. I recently watched a Ted Talk talking about the subject. One thing that the speaker said really stuck with me. She said that when you begin to feel the emotion, rather than let it control you, harness its power. Take charge of the situation, and let it empower you. With this technique, she said that you could move mountains. I tried implementing the technique in some of my classes, and guess what, it worked! Ever since I’ve started using this technique, I always feel so much more confident when I’m giving presentations in front of all my classmates. Fear can control you, but in retrospect, you can actually control it, you just need focus.

Focus on the task at hand, and don’t let anything else into your mind. Once you focus, you don’t allow things like fear, anxiety, or paranoia enter your mind. You are clear to your purpose and confident that you will succeed. I have found that a lot of people find it hard to focus, and allow these negative emotions to control them. For those of you that are affected by anxiety, paranoia, or fear, I challenge you to focus on something. It can be a hobby, a project, or reading. I guarantee that the emotion will dissipate once you do.

Ever since I started on my journey to success, I would say focus has been one of my skills that I have been aspiring to perfect. The skill allows you to micromanage everything that you have planned for your day. For example, you could have 10 different things to get done, all by tomorrow. Now, without focus or confidence, you may think that such a task is incredibly daunting; and may succumb to procrastination, anxiety, or paranoia over getting it done. With focus, you don’t allow yourself to feel these emotions; you take charge of the situation, and make sure that you get everything done in a timely manner.

With focus, you can break down that daunting task into individual parts. Focus on each part, one at a time, and watch that unachievable feat become nothing more than cutting butter with a hot knife. Breaking the feat into individual parts allows you to get one thing done at a time, rather than try to do everything at once. Trying to do everything at once just seems like absolute chaos. Focus on one thing, put all your effort into it, finish it, and then move on, simple. Focus, and watch fear move out of the way.

Don’t allow fear to control your life. Unfortunately, it controls many lives, so much to the point that some people even take their lives because of it. This is very sad indeed. Yes, we are humans that are mostly controlled by our emotions, but it is true that we have a choice as to whether we let them dictate our life. With confidence and focus, I believe you really can control your emotions.

In the words of Will Smith, “Fear is not real. It is a product of thoughts you create. Do not misunderstand me. Danger is very real. But fear is a choice.” Will couldn’t have said it any better. Your thoughts control what you feel, how you act, and in turn, what you will do with your life. So I challenge you to do one thing, every day, that makes you step outside your comfort zone. Don’t go too far at first, but do something that makes you feel uncomfortable you feel uncomfortable. Trust me, it will feel so damn good after you do. Slowly start stepping more and more out your comfort zone, and I promise you, you will really see how good life can be.

To Your Success,

Euan Swan

3 thoughts on ““JUST DO IT.” – Nike

Leave a Reply

