THE 3 KEYS TO SUCCESS

Wealth

Success is something that everyone wants to attain. Success is an idea that has gravitated our society towards working hard, in order to retire with enough income to do what we want with the rest of our lives. But what do we need to do in order to be successful?

I have compiled, what I believe, to be the 3 essential KEYS TO SUCCESS. These keys are based on a recent book I read by Mickey Maurer. The book is titled “10 Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Weren’t Taught In School.” I was fascinated by the book, and was actually lucky enough to meet the man in person. In the book, he focuses on 10 different principles, but I wanted to go further.

While meeting with Mickey, I asked him what were the 3 essential KEYS TO SUCCESS. He looked at me and said, “Wow, that’s a really broad question. Go read my book, and you’ll be able to find the ones that apply to you.” Now of course he just wanted to promote his book, but he also wanted to me to discover the keys that really APPLY to me. I was awestruck by his perspective. He thought that there are different success keys that apply to different people. That is so true. We are all different, therefore our own keys must fit into our own door to success.

Upon finishing the book, I discovered the three keys that really apply to me.

  1. Find a Mentor

Find a Mentor in the field that you desire to become successful in. Let him teach you how he got to where he is. Try to contact him or her on a weekly basis in order to gain insightful knowledge of the steps that you should be taking to get where they are.

Having a mentor is important because they are much further ahead than you are on your journey to success. They have failed, picked themselves up, failed again, and kept on moving forward. A mentor is aware of the potential challenges that you will face, and will advise you on the correct path to take in order to become successful.

  1. Read!

Try to read at least 30 minutes a day. I can’t stress enough how important this is. Reading engages the human mind, and when the mind is engaged, it learns. Read an article online about a topic you’re interested in. Read a book about a topic that you know nothing about. Either way, you are expanding your knowledge. Knowledge in the Information Economy that we now live in, is power. In order to be successful, you NEED to be powerful, so get reading!

  1. Be Humble

The most important of all of my 3 KEYS TO SUCCESS. Always be humble and never take ANYTHING for granted. Everything can be taken away from you, so remember that you are human, just like everyone else. Look at the Pharaohs of Egypt, or the Emperors of Rome; most of them thought they were Gods, and were assassinated. Why? Because they forgot to be humble; they thought they were invincible, and quickly learned they were actually mortal like the rest of us.

Have some humility. Be human and treat all your peers with respect, and they will return the favor.

Mickey taught me a lot, in meeting with him in person. He is a great guy and I recommend that you reach out to him and talk to him about success; I’m sure he would be more than happy to give you some tips. He is a busy guy though, so it may take him some time to respond.

My challenge for you today is to think about success and what it entails. What do you think are the 3 KEYS TO SUCCESS? Remember – success is different for everyone, so try to come up with keys that are different to the ones that I have listed.

To Your Success,

Euan Swan

2 thoughts on “THE 3 KEYS TO SUCCESS

Leave a Reply

